Bakery Class at TST – Yakult Cheesecake and more!

November 2, 2008

On Saturday, my roommate and I went to Best Kitchen (C2, 3/F, Wah Yuen Building, 83-97 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, No: 23689389). It offers baking and culinary classes in Cantonese, and we had joined with my colleagues for the session.

The chef, whom you could tell had most probably worked in either a hotel pastry kitchen from his ability to take cake tins straight out from the oven with his nerve-less fingers, stood at the end of the long table. He also seemed to be a ladies’ man, seeing the many laughs he drew with his jokes from my colleagues. The class was divided into three groups: People who had chosen to learn to make Yakult Cheesecake (ala myself and my roommate), Chocolate Sponge Cake and Mango Napoleon.

Fortunately, our recipe was really a stir-and-freeze kind of recipe. It basically calls for a simple base of crushed graham and chocolate cornflake, and a frozen cheese custard with one bottle of Yakult. Apparently, you can replace the Yakult with an equivalent of beer or probably any other liquid you like (as shown from a poster of the altered recipe on the wall).

The kitchen is small, but can fit maybe 15 people?

The base – butter, crushed graham cookies and chocolate cornflakes

The cheese custard

Not posing

Posing

Chocolate Sponge Cake – Pretty, isn’t it?

My decorated Cheesecake

Mango Napoleon – sponge cake with custard and flaky pastry layers

At the end of our DIY session, the chef whipped up a Molten Chocolate Pudding for all of us in ten minutes, which wasn’t the best I’ve eaten, but was still good enough.

In short, this session was fun, even though it was in Cantonese. At about $230HKD per person, it isn’t that expensive as well. Oh, the only thing is, please make sure you get into the right lift in the building. My roommate and I had gone up the wrong block, and I thought we had stumbled into a gang headquarters (I’ve probably watched too many Hong Kong gangster movies for my own good).

Proud smiling mamas of our cakes!

For more photos, head over to my facebook.

3 Responses to “Bakery Class at TST – Yakult Cheesecake and more!”


  1. babe, did you really bake that? how does it taste? anyway i’m anna here! how’s life in hk? 🙂

  2. anyih Says:

    xiao, your comment was marked as spam! luckily, i saved such an important comment… haha


Leave a comment